Advanced Flying - 5545

Program Summary

Faculty: Faculty of Science

Contact: School of Aviation

Campus: Sydney

Career: Postgraduate

Typical Duration: 1 Years  

Typical UOC Per Semester: 24

Min UOC Per Semester: 3

Max UOC Per Semester: 24

Min UOC For Award: 48


Graduate Diploma in Advanced Flying

View program information for previous years

Program Description

The Graduate Diploma in Advanced Flying is a program designed to meet the needs of graduates with an ambition toward a career as an airline pilot.

This program provides the ground and simulator training which is required for pilots by airlines prior to type endorsement. The core training includes the concepts and practices of Multi-Crew-Coordination, and training in Aeroplane Systems required for a pilot to operate an airline category aeroplane as a pilot. In addition to specific training as above, award of the Diploma will require satisfactory completion of four related aviation postgraduate theory courses. The student also needs to understand core aspects of the theory of aviation safety, and this will be acquired through studying existing additional Aviation postgraduate courses. This program aligns with the UNSW Postgraduate Coursework policy and AQF level 8.

Note: The duration of this program depends on which pattern of attendance option is selected. The patterns of attendance are listed below.

Program Objectives and Graduate Attributes

  • Graduates will be equipped with a breadth and depth of generic, disciplinary and specific knowledge and skills which can be applied to a range of complex contexts associated with operating an airline category aeroplane safely as a pilot,
  • Graduates will have developed an understanding of enquiry-based learning and demonstrate analytical skills,
  • Graduates will have developed a level of critical thinking and problem solving skills in the areas of aviation safety and pilot performance.

Program Structure

Compulsory Courses

Students must complete 48 units of credit (UOC) comprised of the following compulsory courses:

24 Units of Credit of Training Courses (compulsory)
24 Units of Credit of Graduate level Aviation Courses, from
AVIF5915 and AVIF5916 will be offered in both Semester 1 and Semester 2 and require attendance on campus. The four 6 UoC courses are undertaken by distance, and may be taken with part-time program enrolment.

Sample Programs

Program flexibility with regard to the course offerings is important, as many students will be working once the core courses AVIF5915 and AVIF5916 are completed. Three sample programs are listed below. Contact the School Office for other program arrangements.

Full time
(a) Year 1: Semester 1 (AVIF5915, AVIA5039, AVIA5022), Semester 2 ( AVIF5916, AVIA5018, AVIA5024)

Part time
(b) Year 1: Semester 1 (AVIF5915, AVIF5916), Semester 2 (AVIA5015, AVIA5018)
Year 2: Semester 1 (AVIA5024, AVIA5039)

(c) Year 1: Semester 2 (AVIF5915, AVIF5015)
Year 2: Semester 1 (AVIF5916, AVIA5022), Semester 2 (AVIA5018, AVIA5024)

Academic Rules

See Program Structure above.


For information regarding fees for UNSW programs, please refer to the following website:  UNSW Fee Website.

Advanced Standing

Applicants who have completed the following cognate degrees will be given 12 UoC advanced standing toward the 24 UoC of required AVIA courses.
  • Bachelor of Aviation (Management or Flying)
  • Bachelor of Engineering (Aeronautical or Aerospace)

Admission Requirements

To gain entry to this program, students must hold a Commercial Pilot Licence and a Command Instrument Rating (Multi-Engine) and:
  1. Be an Australian citizen or Permanent Resident, and
  2. Provide a CV.
Note: The program will be available to Domestic students only. Courses AVIA5015, AVIA5018, AVIA5022, AVIA5024 and AVIA5039 are offered in distance mode. AVIF5915 and AVIF5916 require attendance in Sydney.

Further articulation into the Master of Aviation Management (8741)

Students completing the Graduate Diploma in Advanced Flying will be granted 48 UoC toward the Master of Aviation Management (MAvMgmt) Program (8741), and will then need to undertake another 48 UoC to be awarded the Masters degree.

Area(s) of Specialisation